My Favorite Month?!?!

I just found out that April is Grilled Cheese Month!!!!!! OMG why didn’t I know this earlier? When we lived in California, there was the Grilled Cheese Invitational in Los Angeles that I desperately wanted to attend but we were booked when it happened. Cali friends I expect you to attend next year! Since there are only a few days left in this fabulous month, I’m going to offer my grilled cheese suggestions.

First, for everyone, I found an amazing site that is all about celebrating Grilled Cheese Month – Pithy and Clever has some of the best “fancy pants” grilled cheese recipes that I have every seen. Every day in April they have posted a new grilled cheese recipe (find them by scrolling down or in the recipe index under sandwiches). I’m planning on trying the grilled cheese and tomato soup (with the soup in the grilled cheese) this week and I will report on its success or failure. The comments, though, lead me to think success is in my grilled cheese future. I also think today’s recipe of brie and nutella is worth a try with the cheese change that the authors suggest.

If you’re not up for making your own grilled cheese, I know where to find some delicious sandwiches. Our California friends, Marisa and Tony, introduced us to The Counter when we lived in Cali. The restaurant started in LA but has expanded to Orange County (Irvine) and Chicago (Diversey between Halsted and Clark/B’way). While The Counter is primarily about burgers, their grilled cheese is drop dead delicious! Plus, my favorite part of The Counter, you can get half and half sides so Jeff and I often get half onion rings (YUM) and half sweet potato fries! They also have quite a nice beer and wine selection and the shakes aren’t too bad, either.

My other favorite grilled cheese in Chicago is at the Daily Bar & Grill in Lincoln Square. Personally, I’m kind of a purist about grilled cheese so I order it without mustard and tomato. Friends, however, like it with both so it’s totally your call. The Daily seems to have a magic grilled cheese maker because the grilled cheese is never soggy and never burned. However, the other Spare Time properties don’t seem to have that grilled cheese maker (yep, I’m talking to you Seven Ten) so stick to the Daily’s sandwich. It is quite large, though, so make sure you’re hungry!

So, if you haven’t already, make sure you celebrate Grilled Cheese month at least once before the end of the month. I will be celebrating every day – and probably after that, too!

3 comments

  1. What was the name of the place down the street from TMG? They had awesome grilled cheese. Can’t believe you didn’t include them in your grilled cheese post!

  2. My personal fav is with tomato and bacon, but ONLY if the tomatoes are backyard grown and fresh. Meely tomatoes stay away.

    Andy has a fun garlic butter version of the traditional (sans tomato and bacon) for you purists.

Leave a Reply

