Summer Wine & Cheese Pairings

As promised, here are your suggestions for summer wine and cheese pairings.  I didn’t hear from many of you (do you not like summer? wine? cheese? All of that sounds impossible!) so if you have a suggestion, just add it to the comments so that we can all enjoy some tasty treats!

21046_200For a summer yummy (which she adds is not limited to summer), Katherine suggests Saint Andre cheese (double cream) on a thin cracker with raspberry butter on top.  She added that she “bought it at Sunset grocery (in the Chicago suburbs) by my house.”  I’m not sure if she meant the cheese or the raspberry spread.  I know the cheese is pretty readily available but I’m not familiar with raspberry butter so I did what any of us would do – I googled raspberry butter.  I didn’t find a pre-made one (leading me to believe that Katherine meant she found the cheese at Sunset foods), but I did find a few recipes and it looks super easy to make.  I think I’m going to try the recipe posted here on RecipeZarr.  And, since Katherine did not suggest a wine, I found this link on Chowhound where foodies suggest wine to pair with St. Andre.  Ah, the joys of the Web!

Inez, my friend and former Crazytown survivor, believes “nothing says summer more than fresh mozzarella, great tomatoes and just picked basil” and I agree. She loves to pair this combo with Santa Margherita Pinot Grigio – a lovely, light, Italian white wine.  It is farmer’s market season across the country so hit the market and make this tasty salad!  Hmmm… in my google search to add a link to the wine, I learned that according to Food & Wine Magazine, Santa Margherita Pinot Grigio is the most popular pinot grigio sold in the United States.  I also found an article by Dorothy J. Gaiter and John Brecher titled  “10 ways to save money ordering wine at restaurants” (great article – read it).  In the article, Gaiter and Breacher note that because of its popularity, Santa Margherita Pinot Grigio is frequently one of the most overpriced wines in a restaurant (they also say the most mark up is on a single glass of wine).  So, while Santa Margherita Pinot Grigio is a great summer wine, drink it at home (with the mozzarella, tomato and basil) or bring it to your favorite BYOB.

See? Not many suggestions dear readers!  So, please add some more to the comments section (anyone have a favorite summer red wine?).

Thanks for reading Bright-Yellow – be sure to share Bright-Yellow with others!

2 comments

  1. Jeremy and I love a good bottle of 2005 Avalon Cabernet. We actually pair it with many cheeses since we are in Wisconsin and that is all we eat around here.
    Below are a couple of our favorite pairings:
    Manchengo Cheese with some Honey on French Bread
    Chicago Flats with Cracked Pepper Gouda

Leave a Reply

