Back to Food – Eat Well Guide

logo-tagAs those of you who know me personally know, I was a vegetarian for many years and once I married Jeff, I started eating meat (in return, he started eating vegetables).  While I have given up my vegetarian ways, I have not given up the goal of healthy eating.

Eat Well Guide gives readers ton of information about locally grown food in the US and Canada.  As the site says, Eat Well Guide provides a listing of “family farms, restaurants, farmers’ markets, grocery stores, Community Supported Agriculture (CSA) programs, U-pick orchards and more.”  The site is pretty easy to use – just type in a keyword, zip code, or city to get a listing broken down by category (bakery, butcher, etc.).  Personally, I love the Seasonal Food Guide (under Featured Guides at the top) which tells you what is in season where you live.  Also in the Featured Guide section you can find guides for different large cities and a guide for when you travel.

Eat Well Guide also has a blog, Green Fork Blog, which offers commentary on issues in the sustainable, local, organic food world.  I loved the post about healthy school lunches. Even though I don’t have kiddos, healthy school lunches are an important issue for many families out there.

Take a look at Eat Well Guide and learn how you can take that first (or second or third) step toward a healthier lifestyle!

Thanks for reading Bright-Yellow!

Leave a Reply

