Nosefrida – One of Things I Never Knew Existed Before I Had a Baby

Well Baby P is now just over five months old and I feel like I’m just starting to get the hang of this mommy gig. I’m certainly not a pro and I’m definitely learning something new every day, but I’m not as overwhelmed as I was at the beginning and I don’t find myself questioning my every move with the baby. Of course, tomorrow he’s bound to throw me for a loop and my new-found mommy confidence will be out the door!

Prior to Baby P’s birth, my friend, Becky, told me about Nosefrida. She has a daughter about six months older than Baby P and she gave me lots of great tips while I was pregnant. When she explained how Nosefrida worked (more on that in a moment), I both gagged and laughed and said no way. Well, because of Chicago’s crazy weather this year (I’m noting, not complaining), Baby P has been dealing with a stuffy nose for most of his little life. After quickly realizing that the aspirator is a waste of time, I finally relented and pulled out Nosefrida – and Baby P is glad I did.

How does it work? In short, you suck the snot out of your baby’s nose (see why I was both gagging and laughing?!?!). In long, Nosefrida is a tube with one end that you put in your baby’s nostril and the other end you put in your mouth (there is a filter to keep the parent from actually sucking in the snot). Go ahead and gag and laugh NOW. But, you’ll thank me when your kid has a stuffy nose and you look at that aspirator and want to chuck it across the room because it does not work. Nosefrida works. It works great and Baby P can tell you that he greatly appreciates it.

I have also quickly learned that this is not the grossest thing I will do to help my child. That is all I will say about that.

I hope to have a non-mom post soon. Right now, this is where my life is. At some point, I’ll add grown up activities back to the mix!

Until then, thanks for reading Bright-Yellow.

Leave a Reply

